Sick Days

You never wish for your child to be sick….but I do occasionally wish for a sick-day so that I don’t have to go to work, and can relax and get caught up on some things at home.

So, to my  excitement (sort of) a bought of high fevers went through our house recently, and two of my three kids got it.

The night the first one came down sick, I thought to myself, ‘I’m sad she’s sick, but so happy for a day off from work! Now I can get some things done around here..’

Not sure what I was thinking with that….

Cooking, cleaning, administering meds and sanitizing everything like crazy to avoid germ-spreading. Add keeping my child company because she was bored….there was absolutely no-thing getting done around here.

Luckily, everyone is feeling better now! So it ‘s back to work!!!

Thank goodness!

…It’s too much more work staying home!!!

A great children’s book is: Usborne Books’ ‘Going to the Doctor’
(See mom at the end of the book!)

2 thoughts on “Sick Days

  1. How often do we wish for a change of pace? That unexpected day off to nurse a sick child back to health (as you found yourself doing), or longing for something that we feel is lacking in our lives (a bigger house, new car, more free time, updated wardrobe, etc.) – and the list goes on and on.

    It reminds me of the old adage that says: ‘The grass might greener on the other side of the fence, but the water bill is much higher!’

    Morale of the story? Even the best of intentions can get side-tracked; being back at work wasn’t that bad after all…was it?

    Great post…and thanks for sharing the book!

    Best,
    Kevin

Leave a Reply

